Savanah College of Art and Design students: keep your scholarships safe from marijuana possession charges
In the state of Georgia, it’s not uncommon for students to lose their State scholarships and Federal financial aid after being convicted of a felony drug offense. Sounds pretty harsh, right? What if it’s your first time being convicted of criminal drug charges? Even if it’s your first offense, you’re still not safe from this extra financial burden.
First offenders can enroll in treatment classes that may prevent serving time or having a criminal record, but this method won’t keep your scholarship providers from bolting. It’s just one more way that drug charges – even just possession of marijuana – can have a negative impact on your life.
The Savannah College of Art and Design, in compliance with several State and Federal laws, forbids the possession and consumption of controlled substances both by students and employees on school property. Getting caught with marijuana on school property, even if it’s just a misdemeanor, can cost you your scholarship for up to a year and sometimes indefinitely.
Possession, use, manufacturing, distributing and dispensing of drugs on college property are all prohibited and a student caught doing any one of these risks losing their scholarships and expulsion. Getting kicked out of school for smoking pot will also limit your chances of getting accepted to a different College or University in the State of Georgia.
Here are some things to remember about marijuana possession:
- If you are caught with less than one ounce of marijuana, it’s considered a misdemeanor. If you are caught with more than one ounce, it’s considered a felony.
- The sentencing range for misdemeanor possession is 0 time in jail to 12 months in jail.
- If a violation involves over an ounce, then the charge becomes a felony.
- The sentencing range for felony possession of marijuana is from 1 year up to 10 years in prison and a $100,000 fine.
- If you are in possession with more than one bag of marijuana – even if the total amount is under one ounce – you can be charged with possession with the intent to distribute, which is also a felony. Possession of marijuana with the intent to distribute carries the sentencing potential of 1 to 10 years with a $100,000 fine.
If you’re caught with marijuana or any other narcotics, contact me today at 912-472-4285.